Old Souls

Hi everyone, sorry that I haven’t posted for a while! Real life has been getting in the way (again!), and I’ve also been dedicating my efforts during my spare time to working on the MNH Webzine! However, I’ve got a little time on my hands now, so here’s a little food for thought…

Old Soul: its a term I’ve read about quite a lot in recent years, although its used in a variety of different contexts.

Some people consider an ‘Old Soul’ to be someone who simply acts more mature than their years; others, like myself, believe that the true definition is someone who’s soul is literally ancient.

Going by my definition of choice, I wholeheartedly believe that I am an ‘Old Soul’… I am trapped in a modern age, which on one hand I like (after all, I wouldn’t have access to such a vast array of information or be able to write for this blog without the internet!); on the other hand, I despise modern values (or should I say, lack of them!).

My soul yearns to break free of the chains of modern society. When I am feeling pressured and stressed, my mind wanders back in time through the generations, and craves the simplicity of days gone by. Of course, one could argue that life was very tough back then – but I’m sure you’ll agree that it was more simplistic!

I recently coined another term: ‘moderneval’, meaning someone who lives in the modern world but who mentally lives in the past. I’m not sure if ‘moderneval’ is a legit word, but its connotations seem very similar to ‘Old Soul’. It certainly sums me up rather well!

I adore everything from viking age/medieval clothes and jewellery, to the way in which such people lived. Yes, they lived hard (and often short) lives – but they were also free of the modern-day rat race, its fashion trends and its crumbling societal and economic meltdown.

Ultimately, when electricity and running water stops, and when food is no longer conveniently available to purchase from shops, we will have to go back to a parody of how our ancestors lived centuries ago.

Most people will not survive this; but some Old Souls such as myself will at least be able to give it a good try!

4 thoughts on “Old Souls

  1. Ah, this sums me up, as well, and is exactly what’s usually on my mind. Would you like to go start a homestead with me somewhere in Scandinavia? 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment