Welcome!

This is the post excerpt.

Hello! I’d like to wish you all a very warm welcome to my blog, Modern Norse Heathen.

I am a 24 year old woman who lives in the UK, who was raised to be a Norse heathen.

I have always rejected the idea of organised religion, and instead prefer to practise heathenism – a belief system which allows you to follow your own path, rather than bow down before one deity.

I hope that this blog will help quel any negativity surrounding the heathen faith, and provide you with facts and interesting reading material on the subject.

Feel free to leave feedback in the comments – constructive criticism is always appreciated!

Also feel free to share my posts if you wish. 

5 thoughts on “Welcome!

  1. I live in the US and came to “The Craft” about mid-time in my life. I started with Wicca, Seax (Anglo-Saxon) and Wita (Scottish). My great-grandmother was a spell caster, herbalist, and nature healer who came from the Ozarks of Missouri. I expanded into some Native American Spirituality and Nordic. My ancestry is of the British Isles (Scot, Brit, and who knows what else). I am also German and Swiss. Recent DNA results also show a Scandinavian ancestry though it’s beyond me how that happened. I’ve always been drawn to a Celtic and Germanic blend to my approach to spirituality, though I feel just as comfortable with some Native American traditions. I was raised Christian, baptized twice. Though I don’t “practice” much anymore, I still continue to learn. As a result, I will watch your website with great interest whenever possible….

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m lurking your blog a bit and I enjoy what I see so far. I’m personally more inclined to writing about my personal experiences since I’m by no means an academic… but it’s nice to see someone taking that place lol. Also most books out there written “by heathens for heathens” are trash in my opinion so it’s nice to see more truly academically inclined posts than the usual spin modern heathens put on this faith.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I agree which is why I hate the “you’re doing it wrong” style of heathenry. There’s truly NO way to do it “right” because so much was LOST and what we DO have has a lot of bias and spin.

        Like

Leave a Reply

